One of Blossom’s ‘Special’ Moments – The Hay Box

So today I went down to see Blossom after I had finished work, to go and give her feed and put some fly spray on. As I went down I couldn’t see her standing in her usual place by the gate, but was grazing instead. 

I call her over and she comes walking to the gate, she has her feed and I apply some fly spray while she was eating. It’s then she starts acting odd, she goes to eat some hay from her hay box but stretches to get it and then quickly pulls some out. 

Look at those donkey ears!

She continues doing this very cautiously, so I grab some hay out of the box and give it to her. She takes it out of my hand after snorting at me and walking backwards to try and get away. I them leave her be and sit down on the other side of the fence just to she what she does. She goes back over to the hay box, but stands with a bit of distance between her and the box. Where every so often she would cautiously take a slight step forward and stretch her neck out to try and get some hay, but would then start snorting. 

She keeps doing this for about 5 minutes and in the end I shuffle the hay around the box, to which I find after that she is happier to eat from it. 

I came to the conclusion that it may have been some older hay that someone had put on her box and she wasn’t sure on the scent. Or she possible could of zapped her self on the fence and had scared herself.

As I was walking back up the hill to the yard, I saw that she was standing happily eating hay from the box. She is one silly pony!

I hoped you enjoyed this post – I thought it would be funny to share!

Speak to you soon, B

1 thought on “One of Blossom’s ‘Special’ Moments – The Hay Box”

Leave a Reply

